In accordance with the decision taken by the Governing Body of the ILO at its
271st Session (March 1998), a meeting of experts was convened in Geneva from 27
January to 2 February 1999 to draw up a code of practice on ambient factors at the
workplace. The meeting was composed of 15 experts, five appointed following con-
sultations with governments, five appointed following consultations with the
Employers’ group and five appointed following consultations with the Workers’ group
of the Governing Body.1
1 Experts appointed following consultations with governments:
Sra. Ivone Baumecker, Engenheira, Ministério do Trabalho, Brasilia (Brazil).
Mr. Dibya Bibha Deb, Deputy Director-General, Directorate General Factory Advice Service and Labour
Institutes, Mumbai (India).
Mr. Edward Khambula, Deputy Director, OSH, Department of Labour, Kimberley (Republic of South
Ms. Danuta Koradecka (Chairperson and Reporter), Director, Central Institute for Labour Protection,
Warsaw (Poland).
Mr. Bailey Seshagiri, Industrial Hygiene Engineer, Occupational Safety and Health and Fire Prevention
Division, Human Resourc e Development Canada, Ottawa (Canada).
Experts appointed following consultations with the Employers’ group:
M. Jean-Claude Aubrun, Conseiller du MEDEF, Paris (France).
Sr. Leonardo Greco, Coordenador del Grupo de Trabajo de Salud Ocupacional, Confederação Nacional da
Indústria, Rio de Janeiro (Brazil).
Mr. Seichi Hone, General Manager, Center for Occupational Health at Keihin, NKK Corporation,
Kanagawa (Japan).
Ms. Anne Knowles, Deputy Chief Executive, New Zealand Employers’ Federation, Wellington (New
Mr. Christopher Money, Industrial Hygiene Adviser (EUROPE), EXXON Chemicals Ltd., Southampton
(United Kingdom).
Mr. Matthew Winokur, Director, Philip Morris Management Corp., New York (United States).
Experts appointed following consultations with the Workers’ group:
Mr. David Bennett, Canadian Labour Congress (CLC), Ottawa (Canada).
Mr. Fulvio Cavariani, Confederazione Generale Italiana di Lavoro (CGIL), Rome (Italy).
Ms. Erika Malekia, Tanzania Federation of Free Trade Unions (TFFTU), Dar es Salaam (United Republic
of Tanzania).
Ms. Susan Pennicuik, Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU), Victoria (Australia).
Sr. Hector Roudil, Sociólogo, Federación Latinoamericana de Trabajadores de la Industria, Buenos Aires
International governmental and non-governmental organizations represented:
World Health Organization (WHO): Ms. Berenice Goelzer.
International Organisation of Employers (IOE): Ms. Barbara Perkins.
International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU): Ms. Anna Biondi.
World Confederation of Labour (WCL): Ms. Béatrice Fauchère.
General Confederation of Trade Unions (GCTU): Mr. Vladimir Kouvchinov and Mr. Gueorgui Kanaev.
Arab Labour Organiza tion (ALO): Mr. Adnan El Telawi.
International Metalworkers’ Federation (IMF): Mr. Len Powell.
International Construction Institute (ICI): Mr. Francis La Ferla.
International Occupational Hygiene Association (IOHA): Mr. Paul Oldershaw.

To continue reading